[RndTbl] snail mail spam ...

Dan Keizer dan at keizer.ca
Fri Mar 22 12:07:01 CDT 2013

I contacted CIRA  -- they do use the Strategic Counsel (note the
spelling) to conduct an annual satisfaction survey.  Note, though, that
the domain you mentioned is spelled differently and just points to a
domain-for-sale page of some sort ...
They also indicate it is random and it is possible that an individual
would receive more than one request.

If you'd like to confirm the authenticity, CIRA has a nice on-line
"type" session to ask questions directly to their support people ... or
their 1-877-860-1411 number.


On 13-03-22 11:13 AM, Gilles Detillieux wrote:
> On a similar vein, have any of you been receiving e-mails from an
> organization called "The Strategic Council", asking you to complete a
> survey they claim to be on behalf of CIRA?  The strategiccouncil.com
> is registered to someone in Toronto, but the survey is on
> researchnow.com which is registered in the UK.  CIRA makes no mention
> of this survey on its web site, so the e-mail looks quite dodgy to
> me.  I've gotten two of these so far and I've just ignored them.
> Gilles
> On 03/21/2013 08:11 PM, Bill Reid wrote:
>> I see that CIRA is very concerned about DRoC.
>> Here are some references:
>> http://www.itbusiness.ca/news/alleged-domain-slammers-lose-dot-ca-licence-sue-cira-10-million/15404
>> http://www.itworldcanada.com/news/cira-investigating-dot-ca-phishing-scammers/145964
>> Here is a good summary of the past few years:
>> http://www.yummymummyclub.ca/blogs/eileen-fisher-gigamom/20121128/scam-alert-domain-registry-of-canada
>> -- Bill
>> On 20/03/13 23:42, Hartmut W Sager wrote:
>>> And CIRA, where are you when we need you? Can't DRoC be deregistered
>>> for ".ca"
>>> at least, due to unethical practises?
>> _______________________________________________
>> Roundtable mailing list
>> Roundtable at muug.mb.ca
>> http://www.muug.mb.ca/mailman/listinfo/roundtable

More information about the Roundtable mailing list